本網站使用cookies,請參閱我們的條款及細則。 瞭解更多 x

A

絕對回報(Absolute return)

獨立於大市走勢的回報。傳統投資通常以能否緊貼或跑贏主要市場的基準指標或指數(相對回報)來釐訂投資是否成功,而對沖基金和另類投資策略則致力爭取正回報;這種回報獨立於資産價格或主要市場指數的上升或下跌,即絕對回報而非相對回報。

阿爾法系數(Alpha)

被投資經理廣泛採用以量度「增值」幅度的指標,因而又代表著投資經理或策略的技巧。有時候,阿爾法系數解作超出基準指標的利潤,或獨立於市場的投資回報—即在市場回報是零的情況下,該投資可獲得的回報。更具體地說,阿爾法系數也有時解作投資回報減去無風險利率,或投資組合回報減去標準普爾500指數或其他相關基準指標的回報。

另類投資 (Alternative investment)

「另類投資」和「對沖基金」等字眼往往被交換使用,原因是對沖基金在另類投資領域中佔重要部分,而且佔比越來越高。事實上,另類投資也包括私慕股本和債務、創投資本和房地產等。從資產管理的角度看來,另類投資有以下的基本特徵:

  • 追求絕對回報—不論資產價格是上升或下跌,都以爭取正回報為目標
  • 可自由買賣不同類別的資產及財務工具,並於不同的市場採取各種投資風格和策略
  • 依靠投資經理的技巧和運用清晰的投資程序,利用市場失衡及其他可識別及理解的機會,從中獲利
另類投資經理可利用相關證券之間的價格反常現象,透過捕捉市場趨勢或利用市場和行業的專業知識,爭取由特殊情況所引起的獲利機會。

另類投資經理利用各類衍生工具、套戥技術和沽空(即預期資產跌價,於是借貨沽出,稍後再以較低價買回)所帶來的機會,在下跌、上升和不穩定的市場狀況中爭取利潤。

年度化回報 (Annualised return)

參考「複合年回報率」(Compound Annual Rate of Return)

年度化波幅(Annualised volatility)

參考「波幅」 (Volatility)

套戥 (Arbitrage)

一種投資技術,利用相關證券在同一市場內和市場之間的價格反常現象,獨立於市場價格整體方向的前提下爭取正回報。套戥者會於被低估的資產設長倉,於被高估的資產設短倉,當有關資產之間的價格關係出現變化,即可捕捉獲利機會。適用套戥技巧的特定投資形式包括可換股債券套戥、固定收益套戥、統計套戥、合併或風險套戥等。

B

貝他系數(Beta)

量度投資組合對市場走向敏感度的一項指標。貝他值的(+)/(-)符號,是指組合回報與大市的走向一致(+),或指組合回報與大市走向相反(-)。假如投資組合相對基準指數的貝他值是 +1,則表示組合回報跟隨基準指數。定義上,該基準指數的貝他值就是 +1。假如組合的貝他值大於 +1,表示組合傾向放大市場整體走向。假如組合的貝他值介乎 0 與 +1 之間,表示組合與大市走向一致,但變動幅度較小。假如組合的貝他值是 -1,則表示組合與大市的走向相反。

「由上而下」(Bottom-up)

投資者考慮公司價值而非所屬行業整體價值或當前的經濟氣候而作出投資的一種策略,為「由上而下」的反義詞。

C

投資限額(Capacity)

基金經理或投資策略可在不減少回報的前提下吸納新的投資資金。要判斷基金經理或投資策略是否受制於投資限額,常用的方法是分析他們在執行策略或買賣時面臨的滑價【參考「滑價」(Slippage)】 的機會率。

資本保證(Capital guarantee)

參考「本金保障」(Principal protection)

災難債券(Catastrophe bonds)

該等證券將發生地震或颶風等災難事件的風險包裝成債券,支付的息差一般高於三個月倫敦銀行同業拆息,但若發生受保事件,發行人即獲解除支付利息及/或本金額的責任。

標準風險控制(Classical risk control)

符合固定風險因素的嚴謹風險控制措施。

複合年回報率(Compound Annual Rate of Return;CARR)

以複合利率計算投資價值每年的改變,以反映在特定時期內從最初價格到最新價格的升幅或跌幅。

商品資產類別(Commodity Asset Class)

可以進行買賣的原材料或主要農產品,如石油或小麥。

商品交易顧問(Commodity Trading Adviser;CTA)

管理期貨【參考「閱管理期貨」(Managed futures)】基金的經理或顧問。 該詞反映早期的期貨市場【參考「期貨」(Futures)】主要是以商品為主,建立目的在於讓生產商及買家能夠對沖相關資產的潛在價格波幅。

固定比例投資組合保險(Constant Proportion Portfolio Insurance;CPPI)

透過對相關資產的期權對沖作出動態調整,以合成的方式複製認沽或認購期權派息的一種策略。與傳統期權不同的是,相關資產的投資(或參與度)會隨結構週期而轉變。

可換股債券(Convertible bond)

由公司發行的一種債券,設有固定的到期日,以票息支付利息,持有人還可選擇將債券兌換發行公司特定數量的股份。換言之,它有「內置的期權」。由於可轉換債券同時具有債券與股票的特徵,所以它的價值也同時反映著這兩種工具。

相關性(Correlation)

量度兩項投資之間的相互依賴或關係強弱程度。系數數值由最低的 -1(完全反比)、到 0(表示毫無關係)、以至最高的 +1(完全正比)。

信貸(Credit)

允許買家於現時獲取若干有價值物品的協議,但買家須承擔未來某一日子作出償還的責任,一般需要支付利息。
請稍後…

We use cookies to support features like remembering your login, country and language selection and to analyse site usage. By browsing our sites with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Click here to find out more. x

A

Absolute return

An outright return achieved irrespective of overall market direction. Whereas traditional investments typically measure their success in terms of whether they track or outperform a key market benchmark or index (relative returns), hedge funds and alternative investment strategies aim to achieve outright positive returns irrespective of whether asset prices or key market indices rise or fall (i.e. absolute returns rather than relative returns).

Alpha

Widely considered to be a measure of the 'value added' by an investment manager. It is therefore regarded as a proxy for manager or strategy skill. Alpha is sometimes described as outperformance of a benchmark or the return generated by an investment independent of the market – what an investment would hypothetically achieve if the market return was zero. More specifically, alpha is sometimes described as the return of an investment less the risk-free interest rate, or the return of the portfolio less the return on the S&P 500 index or some other relevant benchmark index.

Alternative investment

The terms 'alternative investment' and 'hedge fund' are often used interchangeably as hedge funds are an important and growing part of the alternative investment arena, which also includes private equity and debt, venture capital and real estate. In the field of asset management, the essential defining feature of alternative investments is the pursuit of absolute returns. That is:

  • the quest to achieve a positive return regardless of whether asset prices are rising or falling
  • freedom to trade in a wide range of assets and instruments employing a variety of styles and investment techniques in diverse markets
  • reliance on the investment manager's skill and application of a clear investment process to exploit market inefficiencies and opportunities with identifiable and understandable causes and origins
Alternative investment managers may take advantage of pricing anomalies between related securities, engage in 'momentum' investing to capture market trends or utilise their expert knowledge of markets and industries to capture profit opportunities that arise from special situations. 

The ability to use derivatives, arbitrage techniques and, importantly, short selling – selling assets that one does not own in the expectation of buying them back at a lower price – affords alternative investment managers rich possibilities to generate growth in falling, rising and unstable markets. 

Annualised return

see Compound Annual Rate of Return

Annualised volatility

see Volatility

Arbitrage

The technique of exploiting pricing anomalies between related securities within and between markets with the aim of producing positive returns independent of the direction of broad market prices. By establishing long positions in under-valued assets and short positions in over-valued assets, arbitrageurs aim to capture profit opportunities that arise from the changing price relationship between the assets concerned. Specific investment styles that apply arbitrage techniques include convertible bond arbitrage, fixed income arbitrage, statistical arbitrage and merger or risk arbitrage.

B

Beta

A measure of how sensitive an investment portfolio is to market movements. The sign of the beta (+/-) indicates whether, on average, the portfolio's returns move in line with the market (+), or in the opposite direction (-) to the market. If the beta of a portfolio relative to a benchmark index is equal to +1, then the returns on the portfolio follow those of the index. By definition, the beta of that benchmark index is +1. A portfolio with a beta greater than +1 tends to amplify the overall movements of the market, while a portfolio with a beta between 0 and +1 tends to move in the same direction as the market but not to the same extent. A portfolio with a beta of -1 tends to move in the opposite direction to the market.

Bottom-up

An investment strategy whereby an investor considers companies based on their own merit rather than the sectors they are part of or the current economic climate. Opposite of Top-down.

C

Capacity

The amount of investment capital that can be comfortably absorbed by a manager or strategy without a diminishing of returns. One useful indication of whether or not a manager or strategy faces capacity constraints is to analyse the degree to which they experience slippage [see Slippage] in the execution of their strategy or trades.

Capital guarantee

See Principal protection.

Catastrophe bonds

These securities package a risk of catastrophic events such as earthquakes or hurricanes into a bond. These bonds typically pay a spread over 3-month LIBOR, but if the insured event occurs the issuer is relieved of the obligation to pay the interest and/or principal amount.

Classical risk control

A fund which employs stringent risk controls which have to comply to fixed risk parameters.

Commission Sharing

Commission sharing is the process whereby Man Group companies recapture some of the commission paid to brokers as part of their normal course trading activities. Recaptured commissions are used to purchase substantive research, and services directly related to the execution of trades (“research and execution services”). Recaptured commission will only ever be used to pay for research and execution services where there is reasonable benefit to clients. Commission sharing is permitted by the UK Financial Conduct Authority, our lead regulator. Please contact us should you require more information on Commission Sharing.

Commodity Asset Class

A raw material or primary agricultural product that can be bought and sold, for example oil or wheat.

Commodity Trading Adviser (CTA)

The manager or adviser of a managed futures [see Managed futures] fund. The term reflects the fact that early futures markets [see Futures] were commodities-based and were set up to enable producers and buyers to hedge against possible price movements in the underlying asset.

Compound Annual Rate of Return (CARR)

The compounded 'growth' of an investment that has been achieved each year to enable the initial price to grow to the latest selected price over a particular time period.

Constant Proportion Portfolio Insurance (CPPI)

A strategy that synthetically reproduces the pay-out of a put or call option through dynamically adjusting the delta hedge of the underlying asset. Unlike a conventional option, the investment exposure (or participation) of the underlying asset will change over the life of the structure.

Convertible bond

A bond issued by a company that has a set maturity date and pays interest in the form of a coupon. It has features of both a bond and stock and its valuation reflects both types of investments. It gives the holder the option to convert the bond into a specific number of shares of the issuing company – in other words, it has an 'embedded option'.

Correlation

A measure of the interdependence or strength of the relationship between two investments. A correlation of 1 means that the two investments are perfectly synchronised, while a correlation of -1 implies that they move in symmetrically opposite directions.

Credit

An agreement permitting a buyer to receive something of value now, with an obligation to repay this at some date in the future, generally with interest.
Please wait...