本網站使用cookies,請參閱我們的條款及細則。 瞭解更多 x

P

投資組合有效線(Portfolio efficient frontier)

在圖表中設定X軸為風險值,Y軸為回報值,根據不同投資或資產比重所含有的風險和回報,繪成風險/回報曲線。有效線上的投資均達致風險與回報的最佳平衡點。

價格趨勢(Price trend)

參考「趨勢」(Trend)

本金保障(Principal protection)

投資產品附帶的一種安排或機制,保證投資者的最初投資金額得到保障,當產品於到期日贖回時,投資者最少可以取回最初的投資金額。本金保障有多種形式,包括由銀行提供資本保證。

主要經紀(Prime broker)

就長/短倉股票投資策略而言,主要經紀是作為兩名進行沽空的對手方之間的中介人,負責配對借股人(股票長/短倉經理)與貸股人(一般為退休金基金或大型機構)。若股票的市價向相反方向運行,則主要經紀會向沽空一方收取保證金。

預估業績(Pro forma)

往績【參考「往績」(Track record)】的一種表達形式,顯示當原有業績所屬的收費、組合分配或其他投資結構變數出現預計或潛在調整時,對實際回報的影響。請注意,預估業績與模擬業績不同,前者是根據實際交易結果而成,後者則根據未經實際運作或執行的組合或投資方法來模擬結果。

Q

定性分析(Qualitative analysis)

根據管理能力、行業週期、研發力度、勞資關係和基本營運設施等非財務數據對證券作出主觀評價。

定性分析評估一些重要但難以精確計算的因素,而非評估公司的實際財務數據。

量化分析(Quantitative analysis)

量化分析利用統計法及主要的金融比例和經濟指標,建立投資模型。客觀數據的使用,有助從市場數以千計的證券產品中找出具有投資潛力的一系列選擇。

量化分析依賴可量度的因素,與定性因素如管理能力相反。

R

再保險(Reinsurance)

供保險公司購買的保險,按彌償基準提供保障,意思是再保險公司須承擔保險公司保單持有人提出的災難索償。直接再保險一般屬於財團市場,可以「分層」或分批的方式購買保障。

分保再保險(Retrocessional reinsurance;retro)

供再保險公司購買的再保險,提供有關災難事件方面的保障。與直接再保險相類似的是,傳統的分保再保險是按彌償基準提供保障;而與產業損失擔保不同的是,傳統的分保再保險並非根據產業索償指標而作出賠償。

已調整風險後表現(Risk-adjusted performance)

風險與回報的比例 - 每單位風險的回報,或特定回報水平所涉及的風險。此比例一般以夏普比率表示【參考「夏普比率」(Sharpe Ratio)】。改善已調整風險的表現有兩種方式,一是指維持風險水平不變但增加回報,二是指維持回報水平不變但降低相關風險。

S

夏普比率(Sharpe ratio)

為風險調整回報的一個量度指標【參考「已調整風險後表現」(Risk-adjusted performance)】,顯示每單位風險值所衍生出的額外回報。計算夏普比率時,先將實際回報減去短期無風險的回報率,得出額外回報,再將額外回報除以風險值(以年度化波幅或標準差【參考「波幅」(Volatility)和「標準差」(Standard deviation)】來表示),就成為夏普比率。夏普比率越高,已調整風險的回報越大。

沽空(Short selling)

預期資產跌價,於是借貨沽出,稍後再以較低價買回。

滑價(Slippage)

買入或沽出資產的樣本價或目標價與實際交易價格的差別。

Sortino比率(Sortino ratio)

量度風險調整回報【參考「已調整風險後表現」(Risk-adjusted performance)】的一項指標,顯示每單位下跌風險的額外回報。Sortino比率與夏普比率【參考「夏普比率」(Sharpe ratio)】的分別在於,前者認為投資者在獲利時(「利好波幅」)對波幅的接納程度較高,在虧損時(「利淡波幅」)對波幅的接納程度較低,而Sortino比率所使用的計算基準正是「利淡波幅」,即低於目標回報的年度化標準差,又名為半偏差。

標準差(Standard deviation)

一種廣泛使用的風險量度數據,通常用來代表波幅【參考「波幅」(Volatility)】,計算方式是先找出投資回報與其平均數的方差,再求出平方根。

策略(Strategy)

投資經理在使用某種投資風格【參考「風格」(Style)】時所執行的特別投資程序。

結構性產品(Structured product)

結構性產品的一般特徵包括:提供本金保障【參考「本金保障」(Principal protection)】;投資於一系列不同的形式與經理上;設立額外投資部位【參考「槓桿作用」(Leverage)】;以及需要高度組合建構技巧,以平衡投資方法、融資、流通性和風險管理等項目。

風格(Style)

泛指投資方法,例如股票對沖、長倉/短倉、事件主導、套戥、環球宏觀、基金中的基金等,投資經理會利用這些方法找出某類型的市場失效、比較關於該種失效的相類似概念認知,和利用相類似的投資方法來獲利。每種形式的使用者各有自己的投資程序或策略,其中又包括獨特的特色和技術。
請稍後…

We use cookies to support features like remembering your login, country and language selection and to analyse site usage. By browsing our sites with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Click here to find out more. x

P

Portfolio efficient frontier

By plotting the intersection of risk and reward for different investments or weightings of assets, one can generate a risk/reward curve or 'frontier' for those investments. The efficient frontier is the point on such a curve where an investment combination delivers the most favorable balance of risk and reward.

Price trend

See Trend

Principal protection

An arrangement or mechanism built into an investment product whereby investors are assured that their initial investment is secure and that this amount will at the very least be returned to them when such a product reaches its maturity date. Principal protection features can take a variety of forms, including capital guarantees provided by banks.

Prime broker

In the context of a long/short equity approach, a prime broker acts as the intermediary between the two counterparties involved in short selling by matching a stock borrower (equity long/short manager) with a stock lender (typically a pension fund or large institution). The prime broker also collects margin payments from short sellers should the market price of the stock move against them.

Pro forma

A representation of a track record [see Track record] that is developed to show the effect on actual performance of intended or potential adjustments for different fee structures, portfolio allocations or other variations in the investment structure upon which the original track record is based. It is important to note that a pro forma is based on actual trading results and differs from a simulation, which models the hypothetical performance of a portfolio or investment approach that has yet to be applied or implemented in actual trading.

Q

Qualitative analysis

Analysis that uses subjective judgment to evaluate securities based on non-financial information such as management expertise, cyclicality of industry, strength of research and development, labor relations and depth of operational infrastructure.

Qualitative analysis evaluates important factors that cannot be precisely measured rather than the actual financial data about a company.

Quantitative analysis

Quantitative analysis uses statistical techniques to develop investment models using key financial ratios and economic indicators. The use of objective data facilitates the comparison of a large universe of securities to identify a select range of potential investment possibilities.

Quantitative analysis deals with measurable factors in contrast to qualitative considerations such as the character of management.

R

Reinsurance

Insurance for insurance companies. Coverage is provided on an indemnity basis, meaning reinsurers are liable for catastrophe claims made by the insurer’s policyholders. Direct reinsurance is typically a syndicated markets and coverage is purchased in ‘layers’ or tranches.

Retrocessional reinsurance (retro)

Reinsurance for reinsurance companies to protect themselves against catastrophic events. Traditional retro is similar to direct reinsurance in that the coverage is provided on an indemnity basis, unlike industry loss warranties which are triggered by an index of industry claims.

Risk-adjusted performance

Risk relative to return – the return achieved per unit of risk or the risk associated with a particular level of reward, typically represented by the Sharpe ratio [see Sharpe ratio]. Improving the risk-adjusted return depends either on increasing returns and maintaining the level of risk or maintaining the level of returns and lowering the associated risk.

S

Sharpe ratio

A measure of risk-adjusted performance [see Risk-adjusted performance] that indicates the level of excess return per unit of risk. In the calculation of Sharpe ratio, excess return is the return over and above the short-term risk free rate of return and this figure is divided by the risk, which is represented by the annualized volatility or standard deviation [see Volatility and Standard deviation]. The greater the Sharpe ratio the greater the risk-adjusted return.

Short selling / Short investments

A trading technique whereby an investment manager arranges to borrow stock from a stock lender with a view to selling it and buying it back at a lower price in the future.

Slippage

The difference between the sample or target price for buying or selling an asset and the actual price at which the transaction takes place.

Sortino ratio

A measure of risk-adjusted performance [see Risk-adjusted performance] that indicates the level of excess return per unit of downside risk. It differs from the Sharpe ratio [see Sharpe ratio] in that it recognizes investors' preference for upside ('good') over downside ('bad') volatility and uses a measure of 'bad' volatility as provided by semi-deviation – the annualized standard deviation of the returns that fall below a target return, say the risk free rate.

Standard deviation

A widely used measurement of risk, usually used to represent volatility [see Volatility], derived by calculating the square root of the variance of the returns of an investment from their mean.

Strategy

The particular investment process employed by a manager in the application of an investment style [see Style].

Structured product

Typically provides principal protection [see Principal protection], invests across a range of styles and managers, provides increased investment exposure [see Leverage] and requires a high level of structuring expertise with respect to blending investment approaches, financing, liquidity and risk management.

Style

An individual hedge fund’s strategy/investment approach can generally be categorized into one of five main styles: equity hedge, event driven, global macro, managed futures or relative value.  Practitioners of a particular style will have their own investment process or strategy with unique distinguishing features and techniques.
Please wait...