We use cookies to support features like remembering your login, country and language selection and to analyse site usage. By browsing our sites with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Click here to find out more. x

The Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize recognises one writer for his or her achievement in fiction.

Worth £60,000, the prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language. The winner is chosen solely at the discretion of the judging panel and there are no submissions from publishers.

Launched in 2005, The Man Booker International Prize has already established itself as a major player in the literary world and has literary excellence as its sole focus.

The Man Booker International Prize is significantly different from the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction in that it highlights one writer's overall contribution to fiction on the world stage. In seeking out literary excellence, the judges consider a writer's body of work rather than a single novel. Writers from across the globe are eligible for the bi-annual prize, provided their work is available in English.
The Man Booker International Prize 2013 winner
Lydia Davis wins the Man Booker International Prize 2013
Source: Man Booker International Prize

Lydia Davis:

"I was recently denied a writing prize because they said I was lazy." runs one of Lydia Davis's two-sentence short stories. Well not any more. Davis has just been awarded the fifth Man Booker International Prize at an award ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.


Recent winners

 Year  Author  Country
 2013  Lydia Davis  USA
 2011  Philip Roth  USA
 2009  Alice Munro  Canada
 2007  Chinua Achebe  Nigeria
 2005  Ismail Kadaré  Albania

Please wait...