We use cookies to support features like remembering your login, country and language selection and to analyse site usage. By browsing our sites with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Click here to find out more. x

The Man Booker Prize

"The Man Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world's most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and even publishers. The aim of the prize, which receives worldwide press attention, is to promote excellence in fiction by recognising the best full-length novel published by a citizen of the Commonwealth, or the Republic of Ireland, in the year of the prize.

The Man Booker judges are selected from the country's finest critics, writers and academics to maintain the consistent excellence of the prize. The novel must be an original work in English (not a translation) and must not be self-published.

The winner of the Man Booker Prize receives £50,000 and both the winner and the shortlisted authors are guaranteed a worldwide readership plus a dramatic increase in book sales."
Source www.themanbookerprize.com

Man first took on the sponsorship of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction in 2002. During his speech to the Guildhall audience at the 2011 Prize Awards, Jon Aisbitt, Chairman of Man, said that Man is "delighted to announce tonight that we have signed a new sponsorship agreement with the Booker Foundation for 10 more years of the Man Booker Prize."

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2014 winner
Richard Flanagan
Source: The Man Booker Prize
The Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2014 was won by Richard Flanagan for The Narrow Road to the Deep North.

Previous winners

 Year  Author  Title  Country
 2014  Richard Flanagan
 The Narrow Road to the Deep North
 2013  Eleanor Catton
 The Luminaries
 New Zealand
 2012  Hilary Mantel
 Bring up the Bodies
 United Kingdom
 2011  Julian Barnes
 The Sense of an Ending
 United Kingdom
 2010  Howard Jacobson  The Finkler Question  United Kingdom
 2009  Hilary Mantel  Wolf Hall  United Kingdom
 2008  Aravind Adiga  The White Tiger  India
 2007  Anne Enright  The Gathering  Ireland
 2006  Kiran Desai  The Inheritance of Loss  India
 2005  John Banville  The Sea Novel  Ireland
 2004  Alan Hollinghurst  The Line of Beauty  United Kingdom
 2003  DBC Pierre  Vernon God Little  Australia
 2002  Yann Martel  Life of Pi  Canada
Please wait...