本網站使用cookies,請參閱我們的條款及細則。 瞭解更多 x

對沖基金簡介

對沖基金是從其基礎投資項目尋求絕對回報的另類投資工具。「對沖基金」一詞包含任何投資於金融市場(股票、債券、商品、貨幣和衍生工具等)及/或採用非傳統投資組合管理技巧(包括但不限於沽空、槓桿、套戥和掉期等)的絕對回報基金。

對沖基金早於1949年在美國面世,但在80年代後期才真正開始起飛,時至今日已經成為機構和私人客戶投資組合內一個重要組成部分。對沖基金一般用於投資組合中,而不會作為一項獨立投資。

對沖基金一般在股票和債券的傳統投資組合內用作中長線投資。由於對沖基金的表現與傳統資產類別並不相關,特別在跌市期間兩者的相關性偏低,因此能夠為大多數投資組合帶來分散投資的益處。在建構對沖基金組合時,混合多種講求技巧的方式,分散投資於一系列金融工具及市場,旨在令整體投資組合達致特定的回報/風險比例及適當程度的投資分散和風險平衡。


對沖基金的主要特色

  • 絕對回報: 對沖基金經理所追求的是絕對回報,而非與指數或指標有關的相對回報,即使在傳統市場下跌或窄幅上落期間都能締造回報。
  • 講求技巧的投資策略:對沖基金的回報大多來自對沖基金經理的投資策略技巧,而非完全依靠升市時的資產升值。
  • 靈活性: 對沖基金可進行不同金融工具的長短倉交易。
  • 分散投資:對沖基金經理在多個市場和交易所進行買賣,分散投資於股票、債券、貨幣和衍生工具等各種金融工具。
  • 目標一致:對沖基金經理往往以自己的資金進行投資,在利益上與投資者的目標一致。
甚麼是對沖基金?
請稍後…

We use cookies to support features like remembering your login, country and language selection and to analyse site usage. By browsing our sites with cookies enabled, you are agreeing to their use. Click here to find out more. x

An introduction to hedge funds

Hedge funds are alternative investment vehicles that explicitly pursue absolute returns on their underlying investments. The term "hedge fund" has come to incorporate any absolute return fund investing within the financial markets (stocks, bonds, commodities, currencies, derivatives, etc) and/or applying non-traditional portfolio management techniques including, but not restricted to, short selling, leveraging, arbitrage, swaps, etc.

Initially devised in the US in 1949, hedge funds really took off in the late eighties, and now form a key part of both institutional and private client portfolios. They are normally used in a portfolio context rather than being considered as stand-alone investments.

Hedge funds are usually included as a medium to long-term investment in a traditional portfolio of stocks and bonds. As the performance of hedge funds in general are lowly correlated to traditional investments - especially in declining markets when correlations tend to be low - they offer a good source of diversification for most investment portfolios. By blending a variety of skill-based approaches to investing in a diverse range of financial instruments and markets, hedge fund portfolio construction process aims to achieve a specific return/risk profile, as well as proper diversification and balance in the overall portfolio.


Key features of hedge funds

  • Absolute returns: Hedge fund managers pursue absolute returns rather than returns relative to an index or benchmark, allowing them to generate gains even when the traditional markets are failing or range bound.
  • Skill-based strategies: Returns of hedge funds are derived mostly from the skill of the hedge fund manager in executing their chosen strategy rather than exclusively relying on asset appreciation in rising markets.
  • Flexibility: Hedge funds have the ability to trade on the long and short side of various financial instruments.
  • Diversity: Hedge fund managers trade across a spectrum of markets and exchanges, investing in a diverse array of financial instruments including equities, bonds, currencies and derivatives.
  • Alignment of interest: Hedge fund managers often invest their own money, which aligns their interests with those of their investors.
Please wait...